“I say what I want to say and do what I want to do. There’s no in between. People will either love you for it or hate you for it.” ~ Eminem

Posted: July 10, 2013 in entertainment, Life
Tags: , , , , , ,

 

Not Afraid

Not Afraid (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

E- My favorite rapper. The guy can write. He is a lyrical artist who paints a story with each rhyme. This quote describes his life. Now that he is a made man, he is free. He grew up very poor and his life had many limitations. There was no outside world – nothing outside of Detroit, anyway. Now he is a world traveler. Now, he does’t have to beg, borrow or steal to get the things he wants OR more importantly provide for his family. No doubt Haley is quite spoiled now.

This goes beyond money. He is free to come and go as he pleases. There is a thresh hold in wealth management at which point, if one lives within a certain means, he does not have to report to a shitty job for the rest of his life.  That, to me is the epitome of freedom – or the pinnacle of wealth. I can not image not having to worry about work, not playing politics with the boss, having a reasonable schedule or not commuting. (It would be glorious.)

No, I wouldn’t be lazy and sit around and watch whatever is on during the day. There are too many things to see and do out there. There are parks and beaches and services where I could volunteer time. There are classes to take on cooking and art. There are markets that need to be explored, garden that need to be grown, fish that need to caught and animals that need to be hunted. The kids have school events, sporting events, and could also lend a few hours to provide some civic service. Someone has to drive the bus. I find myself living 200 years too late. The life I lust after is somewhat akin to an mercantile aquatic nomad – a pirate. Someone who isn’t bound by rules.

Today I write because, like Eminem felt during his years on the other side of the tracks, I feel trapped and burned out. Stuck in a career now because the money isn’t there in what I would rather be doing. And I sure as hell can’t do all those things I just listed and not be employed.

Here’s to you, Eminem. I celebrate and applaud your freedom to come and go as you please and the ability to say what you want to say.

download

Comments
  1. […] “I say what I want to say and do what I want to do. There’s no in between. People will e… (eugenebbenton.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

