“Why is it that during recruiting season they sign all the great players, but when it comes time to play the game, we have all the great players? I don’t understand that. What happens to them?” ~Steven Orr Spurrier on Georgia Football

Posted: July 9, 2013 in humor, Life, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Besides the holidays, birthdays, first day of school (hahahahah), and the first days of hunting season, there are three more things I look forward to.

1. Gamecock football:

gamecock stadium  images

Every week during the fall, I read every article, every practice report, every list of high school visitors, and do the same for the opposing teams. I plan my meal, snacks and drinks days in advance whether I’m watching it from home or from the stands.

I was there during the 0-11 season and there during back-to-back 11-2 seasons. Its been a long road filled with a lot of heartbreak. I have three favorite opponents. In order, they are 1. University of Tennessee (UTJr.), University of Georgia (Jawja), and Clemson (rock lovers).

2. Florida Gator football:

swamp gator

I have been a fan – long before I was a Gamecock fan. Yes, I know they are rivals. I didn’t plan for that to happen. USC offered the best opportunity for me and the instate tuition was the push. I love, hate  endure when the two play each other, although its a little more fun because the Ms. pulls hard for the Cocks. My three favorite games in order are 1. UTJr., Jawja, and the National Championship game. 🙂

Truth be told, I really love all SEC games. Yes, I’m the guy who chants SEC SEC SEC at every non-conference game.

Yes I dislike both Jawja and UTJr. Couldn;t describe it bettern’ this:

ga bitch

3. National Signing Day

Its the first Wednesday in February and its like a second Christmas. As of late, USC has done really well and Florida usually competes for the top spot in college football. Its neat seeing all these kids signing the dotted line ans realizing their dreams come true. I was fortunate enough to participate in a signing ceremony for a kid I mentored and it was a neat day. I also like the spin off stories and illegal recruiting allegations that always fly around when a kid shows up at Clemson with a new car or as two recruits did, posted pictures of themselves holding wads of cash on their instagram accounts. For all the stories of Clemson recruits partying on Lake Hartwell, I submit this:

Boats and Hos

BOATS AND HOES!!! 

Comments

Leave a Reply

