A Pirate Flag and an Island Girl ~ Kenny Chesney

Posted: June 26, 2013 in Uncategorized

pirate flag

This is one of my most favorite images. I’d love to have that tattoo’d across by back.

Favorite song lyrics, here they are:

Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late 
The cannons don’t thunder, there’s nothin’ to plunder 
I’m an over-forty victim of fate 
Arriving too late, arriving too late 

I’ve done a bit of smugglin’, I’ve run my share of grass 
I made enough money to buy Miami, but I pissed it away so fast 
Never meant to last, never meant to last 

And I have been drunk now for over two weeks 
I passed out and I rallied and I sprung a few leaks 
But I got stop wishin’, got to go fishin’ 
Down to rock bottom again 
Just a few friends, just a few friends

See, I often write about St. Croix and my love for the islands. This love affair didn’t start by chance in August of 2003. This love affair began when I was much much younger than 24 years old. I have always wanted a boat and to be able to run up down the water jumping out on islands and exploring. I did this quite often on the Ashepoo River. I have also wanted to eat the catch of the day each night – living one day to the next.

There is just so much to see and do throughout the Atlantic and Caribbean. Piracy may be dead, by nautical nomad-ism will never die. Its a burning feeling in the pit of my stomach. I see water and I wonder what its like out there gliding through her waves. I see a boat and I wonder where its headed and where its been and maybe what its hiding in its galley.

I respect and envy all captains. Those that run the freighters in and out of Charleston Harbor, the tugboat captains, shrimp boat captains, the crab fishing guys on tv – all are my heroes. While most seem angry or upset all the time, most if not all have confessed that they get to do what they love. Strangely almost all of them have sailors or fishermen for fathers. I did not. I have no idea where my infatuation began. I just know that I have been a parrot head for as long as I can remember and I dreamed of a salty piece of land before Jimmy wrote about it. I remember flipping over the A Pirate Looks at 40 tape when I was around 10. I’ve always thought a lei was sexy on a woman especially when paired with a nice midriff, a belly button piercing, and a peek-a-boo tattoo. I used to value rum as worth its weight in gold. Barbados makes the best. Sorry Cruicans. And for some odd reason I have passed the piracy gene down. A sure fire way to develop an accomplice is to grow your own!

In 4.5 years I will be a pirate looking at 40. This is not good. I still haven’t purchased   stolen this beauty:

depositphotos_3636074-Old-pirate-ship

I have nothing to plunder, but I have my eye on a few small islands in the Bahamas. Hello Eleuthera. I have not yet determined what booty I will seek. Gone are the square grouper days. Pillaging other boats gets you a visit from DEVRU (Seal Team 6). Running rum is more efficient thanks to FedEx and light tariffs. Also, it will most certainly not be criminal activity. I’d rather be hanged than spend time in a Puerto Rican prison.

Leave a Reply

