On Being Content with One’s lot in Life..

Posted: June 25, 2013 in Life, travel
Tags: , , , , , , ,

accept no ones defintion

Let me preface by saying, I’m not an ungrateful person. I’m thankful for my good health, the health of my family and I’m thankful for all that I have. So don’t read this and think of me as Jim Carray shouting at God saying, “Smyte me oh Mighty Smyter!” (Bruce Almighty)

Cover of "Bruce Almighty [Blu-ray]"

Cover of Bruce Almighty [Blu-ray]

However, I am not satisfied with my lot in life. And by lot I don’t mean “I’m unhappy because I don’t have a lot of things.”  I simply mean I feel that I have more potential than what I’m using and I have more utility in my next 30 years than I had in the previous 35. I feel now is the time to make a move.

Only a few (ok, so maybe its 1 or 2 people before this post) know that I’m so tired of the field I’m in. I’m tired of the travel, tired of the type of things I have been asked to do, and tired of the “office.” I have said many times that if I could make what I make now in salary by swinging a hammer, I’d jump at it in a heartbeat. I’m tired of the ladders and especially those that run into a ceiling. I’m tired of the bullshit procedures that no one ever seems to follow and tired of those that refuse to enforce them. Especially, since they assisted in writing them in the first place. Note: My “wanting more” in this instance has nothing to do with money, although more would be nice.  The point here is its time to do something different, or in the very least, get the balls rolling.

No matter how hard I try, I’m never satisfied with myself. I live in a world of shouldas who co-mingle with couldas. This is me at some point on most days.

disaapoint yourself

My life is not a depressed state of being. I am happy with most things. As I said, I simply feel my potential is bottled right now.

For example, I’d much rather be assisting the Red Cross in Africa or Haiti, or constructing a school or hospital, than “pushing paper.” I’d rather be teaching English and Economics in Mexico than doing what it is I do. There are so many charities I wish I could support.

Last summer, I didn’t work in an office for two weeks. I worked for my father’s landscaping company. It. Was. AWESOME. I cut and chopped, planted, fertilized, sprayed and watered and at the end of each job, I could look out and SEE what I had done. As a guy, this accomplishment was very rewarding. The view is my pat on the back to myself. I’m not the least bit ashamed to say I need affirmation even if it only comes from me.

This guy has it:

pat on the back

So for my next 30 years, I’m going to work on improving my lot. And hopefully earn a few more pats along the way.

Leave a Reply

