A Fathers Take on Fathers Day

Posted: June 13, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

fathers dayFathers Day: Father’s Day is a celebration honoring fathers and celebrating fatherhood, paternal bonds, and the influence of fathers in society. Many countries celebrate it on the third Sunday of June, but it is also celebrated widely on other days. Father’s Day was created to complement Mother’s Day, a celebration that honors mothers and motherhood.(Guess that is some form of payback for the rib?)

So tonight, the kids bring me the phone following their almost nightly 15 second coversation with their mother. One says to me that he has to do something special for me because his mom (ex-wife) said he needed to. I had to think about that for a second. I paused then said to him, “No son, you don’t. As a father, all I want is for you guys to stay out of trouble, do well in school, and give your best in your sports and other activities. If those things occur, then every day is Fathers Day and thats reward enough.”

Maybe its me, but instead of lying in bed all day or sitting in front of the tv drinking beer, I’d rather do exactly what we are doing on Saturday – going tubing down the river as a family. I dont want cards, or gifts (although Alicia is a damn fine gift giver and last Father’s Day gift was awesome). I do like a nice breakfast (with bacon) and a big cup of coffee. Some morning lovin’ 🙂 is always nice, too.

As for the day itself, a few hours at the beach, fishing together, or playing a pickup game of kickball or baseball is awesome. BUT if none of that occurs I’m totally cool with it. Like I explained to little man, a Fathers reward is the effort given by his children 365 days a year. Think of it like valentines Day. If you only showed your significant other that you loved them one day a year, you wouldn’t have that signifcant other very long. My kids show me love by the effort they put into life. Notice I’m not suggesting that the outcome is the determining factor. If my kid strikes out, that is ok as long as he stood up their and swing the bat.

Just having my kids with me every day and watching all of them grow, learn and experience life is Fathers Day –every day. My regret is that I’m not able to provide them with all the possible resouces to exceed even more. And no, I’m not talking about buying expensive toys/electronics or things like that. I said succesful kids – not spoiled brats.

Leave a Reply

