Chivalry is dead. An unexpected twist.

Posted: June 11, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

CHIVALRY IS DEAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AND WOMEN KILLED IT!
How many times have we heard that? I think in many aspects that is a sad reality in the world we live in. I am a huge promoter of chivalry – you know- saying “ma’am” to any woman I meet, opening and holding doors, letting a lady off the elevator first, not touching my food until the server places her plate as well, offering my coat, walking behind her going up stairs and placing a hand in the small of her lower back for balance, having her walk on the inside of a sidewalk placing me nearest to traffic, etc.
Many folks blame “northerners” for ruining it and to some extent you do find it still exists mainly (and only) in the South. That’s not okay with me.
Root cause: many folks say women killed it. They also blame women’s rights, feminists, liberals, and so forth. Some may recall the “burn your bra” movement and point the finger there. Or even some legislation. See also ending Women’s Suffrage.  All of these played a part in it for sure, but I believe there are two main causes for the death of chivalry.
I. World War II. During WW2, so many men we enlisted or drafted that the American companies were severely short staffed. The war was draining America of its supplies faster than it could reproduce them. There was no other option than to hire women. A novel idea. So the women left home and went to work. A new sense of purpose arose and a new sense of security. Earning income provides great pride. I admire and appreciate stay at home moms. I really do. Its the most important job in the world and one granted to you by God himself. (Pretty big important boss you have). Unfortunately,  unless you are Cam Newton’s parents, raising a kid with superior athletic, intelligence or behavioral skills wont allow you to pay your light bills or refurbish your church (Cecil Newton). So you can be the best parent in the world with an amazing child but that wont purchase groceries, or pay the mortgage. The ladies braved a whole new world and consequently found a new fulfillment to their lives. Obviously the family dynamic has changed as a result.
II. The Vanishing Dad: During the 60s and 70s and at its peak in the 80s – early 90s, divorce ran rampant in this country. I’m not hijacking my own blog with my opinions on why, so I will stay on topic. More and more we saw parents divorcing and father scooting off with (insert name of floosie) and having little to no contact with his children. An epidemic of fatherless children and added to that, father’s refused to pay child support. Whether she wanted to or not, her ass was back in the workforce if it wasn’t already. No dad at home and mom is working one to two jobs. Well women started making that work to the best of their abilities. hard to blame them for turning their back on this PERCEIVED submissive role that chivalry can be seen as.
I don’t blame women, I blame society and the culture that promotes the FAR FAR FAR left feminist movement that acts directly against scripture and seeks to keep the conservative family unit in disarray and non-existent fathers (with a few mothers thrown in as well) who abandon their duty to be the role model and shapers of young men, providers for their family and the sole person that should set the example of love for their daughters. It is you who force women into roles unsubscribed to them. Unfortunately for ever willing to assume the role step-parent out there, there are 3 times a s many parents who abandon ship.
Comments
  1. […] Chivalry is dead. An unexpected twist.. […]

  2. I had one (fortunately former) coworker who kept asking me, “Why are you still working? You should be at home with your son!”

    *headdesk*

    I am challenged by my work. I am invigorated by it. But much, much more important to me is the littlest man in my life. Many days I think no rueful thoughts about being away from him so long, but there are others where I miss my son tremendously and wish it were financially viable for me to spend more time with him and less time with even my fantastic colleagues.

    I am a feminist, and the S.O. of a chivalrous feminist. His chivalry was offputting at first, but I’ve come to appreciate his care. I’m glad for it, and don’t think any longer that what he means by it is “you’re incapable.” No, it’s more like, “You might be capable, but I want you to know you’re not in this alone.”

Leave a Reply

